Round 14, Southampton

[report by Graham Robins]

The final league race of the season saw wins for Sam Allen (PedalOn) and Amy Perryman (Hargroves Montezuma’s). Both riders led their race from the start to chequered flag, with Sam retaining the Geoff Shergold memorial trophy.

Our hosts today were Crabwood CC and the season came to a close at the Southampton sports centre. The venue is a notorious mud fest and with overnight rain it looked like being another slog. However the rain stopped during the night and riders were greeted with a chilly wind which helped dry the course during the day.

Sam Allen quickly pulled to the front on the run out and was first into the wooded section. Being able to ride the woods this year meant there was soon a long line of riders going into the woods while the leaders were coming out.


Sam soon had Tom Budden (Sotonia CC) for company on the opening lap and Matthew Wakefield (Team Wakies) was in close contact. David James Brazier (Sarum Velo) and Karl Norfolk (PedalOn) were locked together 41secs back closing out the podium spots early on.

By the mid race distance Allen’s lead over Budden had increased to 30secs, whilst Paul Morris (Fareham Wheelers) had leapfrogged both Brazier and Norfolk although he  was now over 2mins behind the leader 40secs behind Wakefield.

Allen continued to increase his lead as the laps ticked away. By lap eight of the eleven he had lapped the field up to ninth and by the next two laps he was lapping riders in the top six. At the bell Sam was now picking off Brazier and Daniel Atkins (Didcot Phoenix) and at the chequered flag was behind Norfolk who was now fifth.

Allen finished 1min 41 ahead of Budden, 3mins 11secs ahead of Wakefield with Morris over four minutes adrift in fourth. Karl Norfolk took the last spot on the podium.

The very successful women’s season came to a close and was soundly hailed as a perfect addition to the league. The introduction of the category way back in September looked like a great idea from the start as rider numbers were high and they continued to support the race throughout the season.


Today’s race saw Amy Perryman (Hargroves Montezuma’s) lead away and quickly distance team mate and Vet National Champion and National trophy series winner Helen Pattinson. Not only her success at National level Helen for those don’t know was also runner up at the vets Masters a couple of months ago.


After a couple of laps the top five was Perryman, Pattinson, Lauren Cracknell (PedalOn), Amy Cantello (Hargroves Montezuma’s) and Lindy Brazier-Larkin (Sarum Velo).

The lead remained constant over the next two laps before Kate Robson (PedalOn) caught and passed junior Cantello whilst Ella Laurence (Hargroves Montezuma’s) our third junior was holding off vets Tracy Bremner (North Hants RC) and Amber Lansley (PedalOn).

At the bell Perryman held a 48secs lead over Pattinson, Cracknell was third, Brazier-Larkin was now over 2mins down on the lead by 30secs ahead of Lansley. So positions at the end in each category saw Perryman winning overall and the junior race with Cantello second junior and Laurence third. In the senior race Cracknell took top spot from Brazier-Larkin and Robson third. Helen Pattinson closed out her season with a win in the vet race ahead of Tracy Bremner and Amber Lansley.

Lydia Gould (VC Venta) was first vet 50+ with Alison Ford (GS Vecchi) second.

Team Jewson rider Phillip Roach won the vet 50 race from Kevin Holloway (GS Vecchi) and Robin Delve (Mid Devon CC) third.


Holloway led the initial lap before Roach took the lead while Tim Costello (GS Vecchi) was third with Delve close by. Our two riders Chris Hutchings and Malcolm Cross from VC Venta were locked together and once Delve got away from Costello the Sussex based rider started slipping back into the clutches of the Venta pair.

At the bell Roach led Holloway by 17secs, Delve at 43secs while Hutchings Cross and Costello were together at 1min 19secs. Roach did increase his lead on the final lap to 32secs and Delve was at 1min 21secs.

Sam Freeman (Hargroves Montezuma’s) won the combined vet 40+/junior race just ahead of Sam Smith (Magspeed Racing), with Matthew Coulson (PPV) third junior.

Jacek Nowak was first vet and fourth overall. Jamie Norfolk (PedalOn) was second vet and fifth, with Rory West (Pankhurst Cycles) third vet and ninth overall.

Provisional Results


1st Sam Allen PedalOn 57mins 50secs

2nd Tom Budden Sotonia CC @1mins 52secs

3rd Matthew Wakefield Team Wakies @3mins 29secs

4th Paul Morris Fareham Wheelers

5th Karl Norfolk PedalOn

6th Daniel Atkins Didcot Phoenix

7th David-James Brazier Sarum Velo

8th Dan Crook Andover Wheelers

9th Tim Doole Maybush CC

10th Brendan Scofield Cowley Road Condors

Women combined

1st Amy Perryman Hargroves Montezuma’s and 1st Junior

2nd Helen Pattinson Hargroves Montezuma’s and 1st Vet

3rd Lauren Cracknell PedalOn 1st Senior

4th Lindy Brazier-Larkin Sarum Velo 2nd Senior

5th Kate Robson PedalOn 3rd Senior

6th Amy Cantello Hargroves Montezuma’s 2nd Junior

7th Tracy Bremner North Hants RC 2nd Vet

8th Amber Lansley PedalOn 3rd Vet

9th Lydia Gould VC Venta 1st Vet50+

10th Deborah Shaw IRIS RT

Vet 50+

1st Lydia Gould VC Venta

2nd Alison Ford GS Vecchi

Vet 50+

1st Phillip Roach Team Jewson 38mins 39secs

2nd Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi @32secs

3rd Robin Delve Mid Devon CC @1min 21secs

4th Christopher Hutchings VC Venta

5th Malcolm Cross VC Venta

Vet40/ Junior combined

1st Sam Freeman Hargroves Montezuma’s 38mins 45secs 1st Junior

2nd Sam Smith Magspeed Racing @14secs 2nd Junior

3rd Matthew Coulson PPV @15secs 3rd Junior

4th Jacek Nowak 1st Vet

5th Jamie Norfolk PedalOn 2nd Vet

6th Barney Clacy Hargroves Montezuma’s

7th Jay Allen PedalOn

8th Harry Dridge Hargroves Montezuma’s

9th Rory West Pankhurst Cycles 3rd Vet

10th Jonathan Hall Sotonia