Race Report – Round #7, Oxford

Report by Graham Robins

Now riding for the Madison Genesis team and at only his second Cyclocross race Isaac Mundy took the win at the latest round of the league. Mundy found the course to his liking as he was able to pull out gaps over Sam Allen (PedalOn) on each lap by being able to clear the hurdles quicker. Despite losing a few seconds per lap Allen was able to close gaps in the wooded sections, and the finish time gap after over an hour’s racing was only 6secs. Alex Forrester (Zepnat.com) was unable to stay with the leading pair towards the end of the race, probably following his race in Belgium mid week.

The race was held at the sports complex run by the Brookes University on the outskirts of Oxford. The course was mainly grass land as it weaved between the sports pitches but there was a large ditch to cross before riders entered a small wooded section, before returning to the grass on the exit. With little resent rain and a fast drying parcour the race was very fast, akin to a grass crit. Our guests today were the local Oxonian club.

At the start of the race it was Tom Budden (Sotonia) who made the early escape but soon found Mundy and Allen getting past, and soon Forrester found a gap demoting Budden down another place. Budden was to have Tom Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden) for company for the rest of the race as the two were locked together until the young Swindon rider eased away in the infield area before the finish line.

So with the top two of Mundy and Allen clear of Forrester by around 40secs and with Budden and Sewell in a tight battle down at 2mins 21secs there were no more position changes until the closing laps. Running in sixth for much of the race Paul Double (Zappi’s RT) slipped away in the closing stages as first Matthew Wakefield (Derwent Valley ATC) and David Spencer (VC Venta) who were just a few seconds down got past.

In the combined women’s race it was all red and yellow as the riders from the Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s took the first five places wining the Veteran, senior and junior race categories. Amy Perryman won the overall race and was first junior, followed by Helen Pattinson first vet and Kara Perryman taking first senior in the race. The top three were well supported by Abbie Manley and Katie Scott helping to close out the most of the podium spots. Taking positions on the podium behind Pattinson were the Cotswold Veldrijden pair of Jessica Connor and Harriet Guest.

In the vet 40+ junior race Dan Guest was in superb form as he took the lead on the opening lap and quickly built up a lead. At the end on the first lap Guests lead was 10secs over a chasing group containing Paul Lloyd (PM), Callum Macleod (PedalOn), Angus Hawkins (PPV) and Will Cooper and Barney Clacy (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s). Guest increased his lead over the next couple of laps and the four chasers were locked together. Towards the end of the race Macleod and Cooper managed to ease away from Lloyd whilst Clacy and Hawkins were temporarily were distanced before both rallying in the closing stages. The only change at the end saw William McDonald (Banjo Cycles) finally seeing off Hawkins.

In the vet 50+ it was Phillip Roach (Jewson/MI Racing) who made the early running. Just behind were Gary Barlow (Reading CC) and behind were the GS Vecchi pairing of Kevin Holloway and Tim Costello. Also running high up the order were Chris Hutchings and Malcolm Cross (VC Venta). On the third lap Barlow made a move which saw off Roach but not the VC Vecchi pair whilst both Hutchings and Cross were dropping back at 50secs and now the pair were joined by Phillip Boarer (VC Vecchi). At the finish Barlow had just enough to fend off a charging Holloway who had managed to slip his team mate Costello who might of had a small problem somewhere on course as Roach took the place back.



1st Isaac Mundy Madison Genesis 62mins 53secs

2nd Sam Allen PedalOn @6secs

3rd Alex Forrester Zepnat.com @1min 24secs

4th Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden @3mins 13secs

5th Tom Budden Sotonia CC @3mins 23secs

6th Matthew Wakefield Derwent Valley ATC @3mins 52secs

7th David Spencer VC Venta @st

8th James Sanford ACU @st

9th Paul Double Zappi’s RT @3mins 54secs

10th Paul Elcock GS Henley @st


1st Amy Perryman Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s 48mins 00secs and 1st junior

2nd Helen Pattinson Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s ‘4secs and 1st Vet

3rd Kara Perryman Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s and 1st Senior

4th Abbie Manley Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s and 2nd junior

5th Katie Scott Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s and 3rd junior

6th Jessica Connor Cotswold Veldrijden and 2nd vet

7th Harriet Guest Cotswold Veldrijden and 3rd vet

8th Jennifer Forrester Zepnat.com and 2nd senior

9th Lindy Larkin Sarum Velo and 3rd senior

10th Ella Freeman Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s


1st Dan Guest Cotswold Veldrijden 42mins 39secs and 1st vet

2nd Callum Macleod PedalOn and 1st junior

3rd Will Cooper Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s and 2nd junior

4th Barney Clacy Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s and 3rd junior

5th Paul Lloyd PM and 2nd vet

6th William McDonald Banjo Cycles and 3rd vet

7th Angus Hawkins PPV

8th Liam Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden

9th Jay Allen PedalOn

10th Ben Bishop Charlotteville CC


1st Gary Barlow Reading CC 44mins 44secs

2nd Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi @5secs

3rd Phillip Roach Jewson/MI Racing

4th Tim Costello GS Vecchi

5th Phillip Boarer GS Vecchi

6th Chris Hutchings VC Venta

7th Andy Cracknell PedalOn

8th David Hobbs Cotswold Veldrijden

9th Martyn Dymond C&N Cycles

10th Rob Tutt VC Venta