Report Round 4, Basingstoke


Adrian Lansley (PedalOn) was the latest winner in the league as he pulled out a gap of over 30secs by mid way in the hour race as Sam Allen (PedalOn) and Michael Cotty (Col Collective) continued where they left off last week.

The North Hants RC were our hosts and the course at the War Memorial Park in the heart of Basingstoke rolled through a wooded section and around two playing fields. The course was dry and we were rewarded with another lovely sunny day.

Report by Graham Robins

Results are available on the North Hants RC website HERE

Please email any queries to

Photo Gallery by Graham Robins  HERE

On the opening lap the three riders from PedalOn Lansley, Allen and Jamie Norfolk tried to make a break but Cotty and Joe Hickerton (Eden Veranda) were close by and after the first lap shuffle it was Norfolk who had missed out. Close by was Alex Forrester ( RT) but he was 30secs down on the lead group and he now had Norfolk for company.

Lansley continued his push on the third lap easing out a handful of seconds over Cotty and Allen, with Hickerton at 12secs, Forrester at 25secs along with Norfolk and then the fourth PedalOn rider Chris Minter was just inside the top ten.

Over the remaining laps the front order remained the same and it was just the times that changed and at the bell Lansley held a lead of 22secs from Allen and Cotty, Hickerton was now at 40secs and the remainder over a minute or more adrift. As we awaited the sprint for second between Cotty and Allen it never happened because as the two riders came back into the twisty section in front of the many spectators Allen managed to roll his tub and this allowed Cotty to roll in 23secs behind Lansley while Allen finally ‘rolled’ home at 44secs.

Tamina Oliver (PM) continued her good return to cross by winning the Women’s race despite a slow start where she slipped back to fifth at one point. It was Lindy Larkin (Dame Cycling Quidne RT) who made the early running finding the firm course to her liking. Right on Larkin’s wheel where the North Hants pair of Sarah Barber and Susan Parker, Jessica Connor (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Oliver. It took Oliver just three laps to reel in the leaders and once past set about pulling out a gap. Larkin had slipped to fifth and Connor remained just ahead of Cam Powell (PedalOn) and Claire Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden). In the junior class it was Ella Freeman (Team Montezumas Hargroves RT) who took the win.

Tamina Oliver’s gap continued to increase at with a lap to go she held a lead over Barber of 37secs; Parker was at 1min and Connor now up to fourth another 22secs back. Larkin held steady in fifth followed by Powell and Smith.

In the vet 50+ race it looked like being another GS Vecchi 1-2 for the second week running but Tim Costello snapped a chain leaving team mate Kevin Holloway to solo to the win. All the action was mid field as Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden), Mitch Purvis (Rides on Air), Gary Barlow (Reading CC) and Andy Cracknell (PedalOn) could not be separated. Once Costello disappeared from the leader board Barlow pushed on and he finally broke clear of McMullen who filled the final podium spot.

The vet 40+ race with the juniors saw Ed Gronbech (Oxford City RC) take the win despite making things hard for himself coming from firth after a couple of laps despite making a good start and leading for the first half lap. The early laps saw a lead group of Will McDonald (Take Tri3), Graham Rogerson (Cotswold Veldrijden), junior Liam Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden) and Owen Pattinson (Owens Cycles) locked together The lead finally changed hands with a couple of laps to go when Gronbech finally made the junction across and once there pulled past. The vet40+ plus race was won by McDonald from Rogerson and Pattinson. In the junior side of the race Liam Sewell was second and Charlie Cooper (Hargroves Cycles RT) third.

below:  start of the Under 12s race


Provisional Results


1st Adrian Lansley PedalOn

2nd Michael Cotty Col Collective @23secs

3rd Sam Allen PedalOn @44secs

4th Joe Hickerton Eden Veranda

5th Alex Forrester RT

6th Jamie Norfolk PedalOn

7th Chris Minter PedalOn

8th Tom Budden Sotonia CC

9th Kean Wytrykowski PedalOn

10th Trevor Allan


1st Tamina Oliver PM

2nd Sarah Barber North Hants RC

3rd Susan Parker North Hants RC

4th Jessica Connor Cotswold Veldrijden 1st vet

5th Lindy Larkin Dame Cycling Quidne RT

Vet 50+

1st Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi

2nd Gary Barlow Reading CC

3rd Dave McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden

Vet 40+

1st Will McDonald

2nd Graham Rogerson Cotswold Veldrijden

3rd Owen Pattinson Owens Cycles



1st Edward Gronbech Oxford City RC

2nd Liam Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden

3rd Charlie Cooper Hargroves Cycles RT