Round 3, Reading

In the late autumn sunshine there were wins for Callum Macleod (Pedal On) and Katie Scott (Hargroves-Montezuma’s) at the Reading CC Bill Higson Memorial races at the Prospect Park venue in central Reading. Both our winners lead their races from the start, and both winners margin was nearly two minutes.

The parkland venue included a single track orchard which this year ran quickly due to the lack of rain for weeks. The only real problem riders faced were the exposed tree roots and the loose top surface throughout the wooded orchard.


The start of the senior race began with a small group of riders edging out a gap as Macleod, Alex Briggs (Tekkerz CC), Tom Budden (Sotonia CC), Thomas Nightingale (Didcot Phoenix CC) and Matthew Wakefield (Team Wakies) began to distance the chasers.

After the opening couple of laps the race order was as follows, Macleod, Briggs, Budden, Nightingale and Wakefield. Briggs was causing Budden problems along with the timing crew as he had forgotten to attach his chip and was not showing on the leader board. Heading up the chasers was Joe Hickerton (BPC Spokes Racing), Dan Atkins (Didcot Phoenix CC) and Morgan Jones (Banjo Cycles)

With Macleod now clear at the front Budden was in a race with Briggs and these two had eased away. Hickerton was the first of the leading group to retire and on the next lap we lost Briggs which left Budden free to race. Both Nightingale and Wakefield had moved up due to the withdrawals and Atkins was also making good pace. Over the closing laps David Bone (RC Ravenna) managed to pass Jones and Jamie Smith had climbed into the top eight. Our other top ten places fell to Tim Doole (Maybush CC) and Derek Newpauer who finally managed to see off Alex Watkins (Sarum Velo).

In the women’s race Katie Scott (Hargroves-Montezuma’s) made easy going of the course as she lead away and soon had a 15secs gap over Maddie Wadsworth (Beeline Bicycles CC) who was followed by Alderney Baker (Team Empella) and Abbie Manley (Hargroves-Montezuma’s). Clare Ross (Brixton CC) was the first senior rider and Helen Pattinson (Hargroves-Montezuma’s) was in fifth and first vet.


The head of the race was headed up by our four juniors Katie, Maddie, Alderney and Abbie whilst in the senior race Ross was clear of second place Lindy Brazier-Larkin (Sarum Velo) that had Melanie Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden) not too far behind. Pattinson was our first vet with Jessica Connor (Cotswold Veldrijden) 1min 30secs further back. Closing out the vet podium was Ruth Miller. The vet 50+ leading women was the GS Vecchi rider Ali Ford.

In the vet 40+ race Dan Guest (Cotswold Veldrijden) had a front row seat watching the two juniors Sam Smith (Magspeed Racing) and Barney Clacy (Hargroves-Montezuma’s) fight it out whilst Matthew Coulson (PPV) completed the quartet at the front. Whilst the four stayed together for a couple of laps the two juniors Smith and Clacy soon pulled clear of Guest. On the final lap Coulson slipped away and was being caught by Crispin Doyle and Sam Freeman ((Hargroves-Montezuma’s) but held on to the flag to finish off the podium positions.

In the vet50+ race it was the GS Vecchi pair of Kevin Holloway and Phillip Boarer who made the early running as they soon pulled out a gap out over team mate Tim Costello, Christopher Hutchings (VC Venta), Andy Cracknell (Pedal On) and Shaun Green (Stonehenge Triathlon and Road Club).

Rob Waller (Banjo Cycles) was holding off Owen Pattinson for a lap until the Alton based rider got past while Hutchings got the better of Costello and he built a gap of 15secs. Green was at 1min 45 and Cracknell now at 1min 52. On the bell lap Holloway extended his lead to 17secs over Boarer, Pattinson was at 54secs and Waller a further 6secs behind.

In the youth race it was Oxford based Millie Couzens who held off Jed Smithson (Worx Factory Racing) right on the line to win. Along with Max Edgington (Solent Pirates Youth CC) and Gareth Davies (Banjo Cycles) the four riders gapped Toby Houghton (Fareham Wheelers) and Thomas Wadsworth (Beeline Bicycles RT) over the six laps and on the final lap Couzens and Smithson pulled a couple of seconds out over Edgington who had just 3sec over Davies.

Provisional Results (full results here)


1st Callum Macleod Pedal On 54mins 37secs

2nd Tom Budden Sotonia CC @1min 59secs

3rd Thomas Nightingale Didcot Phoenix CC @2mins 44secs

4th Matthew Wakefield Team Wakies

5th Daniel Atkins Didcot Phoenix CC

6th David Bone RC Revenna

7th Morgan Jones Banjo Cycles

8th Jamie Smith

9th Tim Doole Maybush CC

10th Derek Newpauer


1st Katie Scott Hargroves-Montezuma’s 37mins 54secs 1st junior

2nd Maddie Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT 2nd junior

3rd Alderney Baker Team Empella 3rd junior

4th Abbie Manley Hargroves-Montezuma’s

5th Clare Ross Brixton CC and 1st senior

6th Helen Pattinson Hargroves-Montezuma’s and 1st vet

7th Lindy Brazier-Larkin Sarum Velo 2nd senior

8th Melanie Smith Cotswold Veldrijden 3rd senior

9th Carly Hughes Fareham Wheelers

10th Jessica Connor Cotswold Veldrijden and 2nd vet

Ruth Miller 3rd vet

Alison Ford GS Vecchi 1st vet 50+

Vet 40+

1st Dan Guest Cotswold Veldrijden 41mins 51secs

2nd Crispin Doyle Hargroves-Montezuma’s @8secs

3rd Jamie Norfolk Pedal On

4th William McDonald Banjo Cycles

5th David Spencer VC Venta


1st Sam Smith Magspeed Racing

2nd Barney Clacy Hargroves-Montezuma’s

3rd Matthew Coulson PPV

4th Samuel Freeman Hargroves-Montezuma’s

5th Euan Macleod Pedal On


1st Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi

2nd Phillip Boarer GS Vecchi

3rd Owen Pattinson Owen’s Cycles

4th Rob Waller Banjo Cycles

5th Christopher Hutchings VC Venta


1st Millie Couzens

2nd Jed Smithson Worx Factory Racing

3rd Max Edgington Solent Pirates Youth CC

4th Gareth Davies Banjo Cycles

5th Thomas Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT