Race Report – Round #9, Droxford

Report by Graham Robins

There were wins for Adrian Lansley (PedalOn) and Helen Pattinson (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s) at the latest round of this season league. Whilst Lansley led his race from the start Pattinson had to wait a couple of laps before rising to the front, a lead she was never to relinquish.

Our hosts today were Fareham Wheelers who returned to the Motor Cross track just north of Southampton for the second time this year. There were a couple of tweaks made to the course from the earlier race in the season, and these changes were welcomed by riders. The course had drained from the overnight rain and when racing got underway mid morning the sun had come out making for a pleasant day’s racing.

Right from the start in the senior race Lansley came to the front on the twisty infield section before riders made their way out on to the far side of the course and a lung busting climb followed by a roller coaster downhill before entering back into in infield for some more twisty back and forth. The PedalOn rider already had a four second lead over team mate Sam Allen before the first climb with a youthful Chris Rothwell just a couple of seconds further back.

After the first full lap Lansley had a six second lead over Allen with Rothwell still very much in contention. Alex Forrester (Zepnat.com) was pushing hard but unable to close the gap but managing to stay clear of a trio of riders, Michael Guilford (VC Meudon), Tom Budden (Sotonia CC) and Tom Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden) all thirty seconds back.

On the second lap Rothwell managed to get past Allen but Lansley was already extending his lead. Coming through the field quickly was Barney Clacy (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s) and soon he had Forrester’s back wheel in view. There was a little tussle behind with a trio of riders Budden, Joe Hickerton (BPC Spokes Racing) and Sewell covered by just a second.

At the mid race distance Lansley had a lead of 38secs over Rothwell; Allen was at 51secs whilst Budden, Clacy and Lee Rutland (ACU) were down at 1min 48secs. As the final couple of laps ticked away there were no significant change to the order just time gaps extending. Then on the final lap as the positions were secured Rothwell saw his front wheel washout from underneath him which allowed Allen to pass and never look back.

A full squad of Hargroves Ridley Montezuma return to league duties following last week’s National trophy racing and soon the red and yellow squad filled the first four places on the opening lap. Abbie Manley making her customary quick start led the charge into in infield followed by Amy Perryman, Helen Pattinson and Katie Scott. Making a fast start and well within the top ten was India Lee now riding for the Hargroves team and she quickly dispatched riders on each lap.

The second lap saw changes throughout the race with Pattinson taking the lead towards the end of the lap, Sarah Barber (North Hants RC) and Claire Smith (Cotswold Veldrijden) rolled through along with Lee to within striking distance of Manley.

On the fourth lap with Pattinson nearly a minute up Lee had finally dispatched with Manley who was then passed by Barber, Guest and Smith demoting the young rider to sixth place just ahead of Perryman and Scott. This order remained until the chequered flag with Pattinson winning and holding to her lead on the final lap and even managed to add a couple of seconds on her victory lap.

The vet 50+ race was comprehensively won by Owen Pattinson (Owens Cycles) although he had to come through the front row of the grid to take the lead. The Petersfield rider quickly dispatched the GS Vecchi pair of Kevin Holloway and Tim Costello as he found the course to his liking and his mountain biking skills. Having spent the week cutting the grass and putting up the course at the venue Mike Williams of the promoting club was steady in fourth, Phillip Boarer (GS Vecchi) was fifth and Malcolm Cross (VC Venta) sixth.

Dan Guest (Cotswold Veldrijden) made light work of the slippery course but he had to first shake off junior Barney Clacy (Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s) and Paul Lloyd before he could see the chequered flag, which he did but it was close in the end. The three leaders had just a handful of second between them on the opening couple of laps as Clacy set the pace followed by Lloyd and then Guest. Jay Allen (PedalOn) was a distant fourth whilst Liam Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden) had a pair of Hargroves riders Harry Dridge and Joel Hawkins for company.

On the third of seven laps Guest started to ease away from Lloyd although he was having trouble dispatching Clacy as the young Southampton junior was stuck to his wheel. The two leaders swapped places on different parts of the course whilst Lloyd stayed in contention only eleven seconds adrift and ready to pounce if there was an opportunity.

On the last lap Guest made one more push but Clacy was undeterred and stayed with him almost to the line only missing out by less than a second on the line. Lloyd had dropped more than a minute on the final lap and took the final place on the podium. Jay Allen and Joel Hawkins filled the podium along with Clacy whilst William McDonald (Banjo Cycles) completed the veteran podium.


(full results)


1st Adrian Lansley PedalOn 50mins 14secs

2nd Sam Allen PedalOn @55secs

3rd Chris Rothwell @1min 16secs

4th Alexander Forrester Zepnat.com @3mins 11secs

5th Barney Clacy Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s @3mins 12secs

6th Lee Rutland ACU @3mins 31secs

7th Michael Guilford VC Meudon @3mins 32secs

8th Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden @3mins 44secs

9th Tom Budden Sotonia CC @3mins 47secs

10th Joe Hickerton BPC Spokes Racing @4mins 18secs

Women’s combined

1st Helen Pattinson Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s 39mins 29secs 1st vet

2nd India Lee Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s @1min 02secs 1st senior

3rd Sarah Barber North Hants RC @1min 07secs 2nd senior

4th Harriet Guest Cotswold Veldrijden 2nd vet

5th Claire Smith Cotswold Veldrijden 3rd vet

6th Abbie Manley Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s 1st junior

7th Amy Perryman Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s 2nd junior

8th Katie Scott Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s 3rd junior

9th Jennifer Forrester Zepnat.com 3rd senior

10th Carly Hughes Service de Velo/ Fareham Wheelers

Vet 50+

1st Owen Pattinson Owens Cycles 36mins 10secs

2nd Kevin Holloway GC Vecchi @40secs

3rd Tim Costello GS Vecchi @1min 31secs

4th Mike Williams Fareham Wheelers

5th Phillip Boarer GS Vecchi

6th Malcolm Cross VC Venta

7th Richard Collins Imperial RT

8th Graeme Stirzaker Solent Pirates

9th Anthony Dyment NHRC

10th Martyn Dymond C&N cycles RT

Vet40+/ juniors

1st Dan Guest Cotswold Veldrijden 40mins 43secs

2nd Barney Clacy Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s @.00.05secs 1st junior

3rd Paul Lloyd PM @1min 33secs

4th Jay Allen PedalOn 2nd junior

5th Joel Hawkins Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s 3rd junior

6th Liam Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden junior

7th William McDonald Banjo Cycles

8th Tim Hyde PM

9th Harry Dridge Hargroves Ridley Montezuma’s junior

10th Adam Frewin PedalOn