Round 13, Fareham, 17th January 2016


Sam Allan (PedalOn) made amends for last week’s disappointment by winning the latest round of the Wessex League by nearly four minutes. This is Sam’s third win of the season and keeps him on track to win the league. The conditions were tricky with long grass and deep mud dotted around the technical course at the YMCA site just outside of Southampton, the second visit to the venue this season.

The latest round was once again promoted by Fareham Wheelers with support from Solent Cycles at the excellent venue run by the YMCA. The course included two wooded copse and plenty of grassland. Parts on the course cut up making the going tricky in places. The resent rain and overnight frost added to the conditions early on.

Once the senior race got underway Allan was quick to open out a large gap and by half way was well on his way to a three minute lead. Behind Allan there was a good tussle between three riders, Karl Norfolk (PedalOn) Ryan Smith (Team Moore Fitness) and a new rider to us Hayden Wood. These three could not be separated by much until the closing stages of the race. Joe Hickerton (Eden Veranda racing) was up the front but he retired just after mid distance but until then he was running second to Allan.

While Allan was on his own at the front Smith made his move on the firth lap passing Karl Norfolk and putting a minute gap between them. Sotonia rider Tom Budden got past Hayden Wood and this now concluded the places at the finish.

Dave McMullen (Cotswold Veldrijden) won the vet 50 race seemingly finding the muddy conditions to his liking as he built a lead from Tim Costello (GS Vecchi) and Chris Hutchings (VC Venta).

In the women’s race it was a North Hants RC shut out on the podium as Sarah Barber, Susan Parker and Tracy Cornell claimed all three places. In the junior women’s race Kara Perryman (Solent Pirates) took the top step from Emma Clarke (RP Racing) and Lucy Edmonds (Bournemouth Arrow).

Graham Rogerson (Cotswold Veldrijden) was a clear winner of the vet40 race with junior Ed Gronbech (Oxford City RC) taking the first junior spot. Robin Wilmott (Cotswold Veldrijden) quickly came through the field after a slow start to be second as the riders started the second lap, whilst Nick Onslow (PedalOn) was on the third step of the podium. Charlie Cooper (Eden Veranda Racing) was second junior and Luca Wright third.

Once again siblings Archie and Katie Scott from the Cotswold Veldrijden were successful in the youth race.

Report by Graham Robins

Photo Gallery by Graham Robins HERE

Full results on the Black Sheep Timing website   HERE

All queries about the results should be emailed to Black Sheep at

Missing Wheels.  Liam Harris was taking part in the youth race today.  He had a spare set of wheels in the pits but they were removed by the time Liam returned to collect them.  Probably someone has accidentally picked them up by mistake.  They are Fulcrum racing disks clinchers with Vitoria xm tyres.  If you can help please contact Colleen Harris via e mail   or mobile number 07946106045.

Provisional Results


1st Sam Allan PedalOn 54mins 08secs

2nd Ryan Smith Team Moore Fitness @3mins 58secs

3rd Karl Norfolk PedalOn

4th Tom Budden Sotonia

5th Hayden Wood PM

6th Pete Warner

7thJamie Norfolk PedalOn

8th Chris Minter PedalOn

9th Seb Lloyd FBGM

10th Phil Wilks Sotonia

Vet 40+

1st Graham Rogerson Cotswold Veldrijden 38mins 48secs

2nd Edward Gronbech Oxford City RC and 1st Junior

3rd Robin Wilmott Cotswold Veldrijden

4th Nick Onslow PedalOn

5th Gary Barlow Reading CC


1st Edward Gronbech Oxford City RC

2nd Charlie Cooper Eden Veranda Racing

3rd Luca Wright PM


1st Dace McMullen Cotswold Veldrijden 40mins 33secs

2nd Tim Costello GS Vecchi

3rd Chris Hutchings VC Venta

4th Kevin Holloway GS Vecchi

5th Malcolm Cross VC Venta




1st Sarah Barber North Hants RC

2nd Susan Parker North Hants RC

3rd Tracy Cornell North Hants RC


1st Kara Perryman Solent Pirates

2nd Emma Clarke RP Racing

3rd Lucy Edmonds Bournemouth Arrow

Youth Male

1st Archie Scott Cotswold Veldrijden

2nd Will Cooper I-Team

3rd Angus Hawkins PPV

Youth Female

1st Katie Scott Cotswold Veldrijden

2nd Amy Perryman Solent Pirates

3rd Ella Freeman Solent Pirates