Round 5, Reading CC, 18th Oct 2015

Adrian Lansley (PedalOn) put in a controlled effort to win the latest round of the Wessex Cyclo Cross League at the popular Prospect park course on the Western side of Reading. The event was promoted by the local Reading CC and held on a dry warm late October. The course was firm and rode very quickly producing some quick times.

In the early stages of the race Lansley had team mate Sam Allen for company but the younger rider was dropped with just over a lap to go. Whilst the two PedalOn riders built up a lead of over a minute riders were queuing up to take the third step on the podium. There was a group of riders all locked together lead by Joe Hickerton (Eden Veranda), Michael Guilford (VC Meudon), Josh Hooper (Primera Sport) and Jamie Norfolk (PedalOn).

below:  Lansley and Allen


As the laps ticked away Lansley made his move and put 30secs into Allen whilst behind Guilford began to managed to gain a handful off seconds over the chasing group which now included Steve Davies (Hargroves Cycles) racing the senior race within 20mins of winning the vet50 race.

The women’s race saw Emily Wadsworth (Beeline Cycles) and Sarah Barber (NHRC) running together right up to the last 50meters of the race with the younger rider finding the energy to take the win. Rosie Brown (Westbury Wheelers) although running on her own in third was enjoying her best result in a Wessex League race and Helen Pattinson (Solent Pirates) was leading the vet women’s race and fourth in the race.

The vet 50+ race was again won by Steve Davies (Hargroves Cycles) his fifth straight win this season. Behind Davies, Phil Boarer (Blazing Saddles) was in a tussle with Kevin Holloway (VC-10) and this battle went down to the last lap when Holloway pulled out a 15secs lead but he was nearly a minute down on winner Davies.

below: Steve Davies


The vet 40+ race was dominated by Dan Guest (Performance Cycles) retaining his fine form from last week’s National Trophy race where he on the second step of the podium. From the first lap the Cirencester rider built up a lead close to a minute over Mike Simpson (Beeline Cycles) and Andy Taylor (C&N Cycles) who were locked together throughout. In between Guest and Simpson was Tom Sewell (Cotswold Veldrijden) the leading junior and he was over 2mins ahead of Charlie Cooper (Eden Veranda) and Ed Gronbech (Oxford City RC) in the junior race.

The youth races saw wins for brother and sister Erin Baker (Team Milton Keynes) and Alderney Baker (Corley Cycles-Drops RT).

below: Alderney Baker


Report by Graham Robins

Photo Gallery by Graham Robins HERE

Results on Reading CC Website

Under 12s


V40/Junior Men

V50 Men and Women

Senior Men

Please contact  if you have a query about the results.

Top Placings


1st Adrian Lansley PedalOn 53mins 17secs

2nd Sam Allen PedalOn @42secs

3rd Michael Guilford VC Meudon2mins 20secs

4th Jamie Norfolk PedalOn

5th Josh Hooper Primera Sport

6th Steve Davies Hargroves Cycles

7th Chris Minter PedalOn

8th Joe Hickerton Eden Veranda

9th Scott Chappell Behind the Bikeshed

10th Joshua Hobbs Kingston Wheelers


Vet 40+

1st Dan Guest Performance Cycles 38mins 45secs

2nd Tom Sewell Cotswold Cycles and 1st Junior

3rd Mike Simpson Beeline Cycles

4th Andy Taylor C&N Cycles

5th Graham Rogerson Cotswold Veldrijden



1st Tom Sewell Cotswold Veldrijden 39mins 41secs

2nd Charlie Cooper Eden Veranda @2mins 02secs

3rd Ed Gronbech Oxford City RC @ 2mins 12secs



1st Emily Wadsworth Beeline Bicycles RT

2nd Sarah Barber NHRC

3rd Rosie Brown Westbury Wheelers

4th Helen Pattinson Solent Pirates

5th Lydia Brooks GS Henley


Vet 50+

1st Steve Davies Hargroves Cycles 42mins 00secs

2nd Kevin Holloway VC-10 @55secs

3rd Phillip Boarer Blazing Saddles 1min 10secs

4th Nigel Brown Westbury Wheelers

5th Andy Cracknell PedalOn